Three more and lessons learnt

I am finding that making these blocks are quite relaxing and it helps me to ‘switch off’ after a hard day at school. This afternoon I basically came home and immediately started to work on a block……and finished three today. I have three more already prepped

This is my first patchwork project and I am learning as I go. I am finding out that I really have to concentrate when cutting the pieces for the blocks – I still measure and cut, instead of measure and measure again and then cut! I have discovered that cutting in front of the line on the ruler, or including the line actually makes a huge difference if you are working with 6″ blocks.

Yes, lesson 1 is definitely – be very accurate when measuring the pieces!

Lesson two – press, don’t iron. Ironing can stretch those tiny little pieces. Press gently. And press every little seam! Not only are the seams lying neatly on the back, but the end result is so much neater too

Lesson three – do not, I repeat, DO NOT press when the block is on the cutting board. The cutting board is plastic and will melt. It will leave a mark on your iron……..say no more 😦

Lesson four – sew an easy block and then a more difficult one. Do not sew all the easy ones first. At some stage those difficult ones will have to be done and if you alternate easy and difficult you will make life easier for yourself. I didn’t do it that way – my first blocks were all the easy ones. And now I am working on the complicated ones. Not good

Lesson five – careful with those points! Although I am still quite proud of what I achieved so far, I know it is not perfect. There are heaps of mistakes. But I am learning and I am getting better with each block completed. I do know my blocks appear neat and tidy, but the points aren’t always the best. I also know my colour combinations are not always the best and some blocks look quite ‘busy’. A lighter fabric would have the better choice with the flowery fabric

Also be careful when reading the instructions. Read it properly, read it to the end!!!!!!! The size 6″-blocks got stuck in my head and that is what I aimed for. But if I read it properly and with more understanding I would have read ‘6″ finished”. But truthfully I also blaming the fact that I am a total beginner and didn’t really realise what the difference was between unfinished and finished. I thought unfinished meant before you sewed the pieces together, and finished meant the block sewn together. I actually trimmed the first blocks I completed to 6″ exactly – forgetting/not knowing that there should be a seam allowance and the blocks should actually measure 6 1/2″. So yes, my blocks are all 6″ which means the points and triangles and seams are going to be even less perfect when I sew the blocks together for the quilt. But I can’t change it now. I only understood it should be 6 1/2″ after I dutifully trimmed the first 12 blocks.

I have learnt much more than the above-mentioned lessons, but some things should not be written down as I really don’t want to look like a total fool 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bella is keeping an eye on me
Leave a Reply

