Moving! Moved!

After all the packing the moving company picked up my stuff on Monday. I then cleaned the house, packed the car and caught the ferry at 10pm that night, departing Wellington at 2:30am. Because I booked a cabin I could board early and get some sleep, before arriving in Picton at 6am and then driving to out new house 6 hours away

ferry

The cats coped well, although they were totally confused by the empty house – they were in the closed bathroom while the movers packed and were surprised to see nothing but floor when I let them out. As I was going to be there for the rest of the day I made us a floorbed (with all the bedding that was on my bed) and we relaxed there until leaving

floorbed

At some stage they got a bit confused with the empty house and simply sat in the one carrier, waiting for something to happen. Which I found quite funny as Mollie doesn’t like the carrier and never gets into it voluntary

moving

The car was PACKED! Not just with all my stuff, but also 2 cat carriers, a litter tray, toys, food, scratch pole and lots and lots of stuff. (When I saw it all unpacked I couldn’t believe I managed to fit it in one small car). The cats did so well, not only on the ferry, but throughout the whole journey. They were calm, used the litter tray when I stopped and let them out of the carriers and then sleeping happily when we moved on again. It was funny the first time I let them out of the carriers in the car – Mollie jumped to use the litter tray but took a while. Bella walked past a few times, waiting her turn and then simply couldn’t wait any longer and jumped in too. Of course they both can’t fit properly and I couldn’t resist the temptation and took a photo with poor Bella half in the tray and half out 🙂 (Poor Mollie was at that stage also inside the litter tray, squashed in the back of it

litter

At the destination I immediately made the bed with my bedding as I thought it would help the cats to settle, having the familiar smells around them. The youngest refused to leave the bedroom the whole day, hiding under the duvet everytime she heard some new noise. But she eventually started exploring the house later the evening. And early this morning, when I made coffee, she was exploring again with very loud commentary. The other cat knows the house well as she has visited often in the past and simply found a comfy chair and claimed it as hers

So here we are, a whole new adventure started!