SAL update

Since the previous SAL update I have done NO needlework at all, as I left to visit my son in Hong Kong on that day. I came back on Wednesday and the jetlag has been quite bad (which is uncommon as I never really struggle with jetlag)

What a visit! What a holiday! I met my son in Sydney and flew to Hong Kong with him as the pilot. I was so proud!!!! The crew spoiled me and kept on telling me what a nice person he is. And offered me chocolate and coffee and kept on checking on me. He also came to visit to see if I am ok. Did I say I had to fly business class? Yep, they popped me in Business Class 🙂 After we landed the captain invited me to the cockpit and told me to sit in Jake’s seat – I simply had to try it out

We had a day in Hong Kong and then we were off to a mystery location. I was told (before going to Hong Kong, to pack summer clothes, but that is all I knew). He checked me in (with me having to stand out of earshot. He then took me right through security without telling me where we were going. I am not sure how he managed to take me through security by carrying my passport and boarding pass – I just followed. At the gates he made me walk from one gate to the other, teasing me with ‘is this where we are going?’. And then, just as they started to board we were at the gate which said ‘destination Yangon’. Yangon? I had no idea where it was!!!!!!! Only after carefully studying the maps and sipping orange juice, I realised we were on the way to Myanmar. How exciting! I always wanted to go there

Some years ago I helped a refugee family from Burma settle in here in New Zealand, and since that time I always wanted to visit Burma, and learn more about their circumstances and background.

We arrived quite late at night and the taxi ride was actually a bit scary and long. First we were stopped by police with guns, checking the car and the boot. And then we drove for a long time before getting to the hotel. I felt nervous, but luckily my son had Google Maps out and followed the route to the hotel

The next day I totally fell in love. Yangon is a modern city, but with the most beautiful temples and pagodas. And friendly people. We spent hours at the Shwedagon pagoda, and stayed there until it was dark. What a place

A couple of days later we made our way to Bagan. So different from Yangon. Here I was given my early birthday present – a sunrise balloon ride over the temples. It was wonderful!!!! Because we landed in the middle of the river (on sand) we also had a complimentary boat ride back to Bagan.

The rest of the time we explored Bagan by foot – walking from one pagoda to the next. Or taking a horse and cart

Back in Hong Kong we explored the city. My son live close to the longest outdoor escalators which I always wanted to see, but missed out on a previous trip to Hong Kong, as we stayed in Kowloon and didn’t visit Central. I ended up using them a few days every day (or walking next to them  because they were going in the wrong direction at that time). We went to the movies in 3-D (Beauty and the Beast), we went to Disneyland (some of his friends perform at the shows in Disneyland and took us in as their guests, which saved us the entry fees)

And then we took a ferry ride to Macau and spend the whole day there. With the highlight being the Dancing Waters show. It was breathtaking beautiful – it was simply wonderful.

Back in Hong Kong we decided I had to go home at some stage and we booked my flight for the next day. What a trip, what a privilege to meet his friends, fly with him, explore his neighbourhood and meeting some of his colleagues!!!!!!!!

Sorry ladies and gentleman, no real SAL update (although I fixed his shirt – does that count?), but please visit the blogs of the SAL members:

AvisClaireGunCaroleLucyAnnKateJessSueConstanzeDebbieroseChristina,
Kathy MargaretCindyHelenStephLindaCatherineWendy, Tim, MaryMargaret

12 thoughts on “SAL update

  1. Cindy April 2, 2017 / 5:06 am

    It sounds like you had a wonderful trip.

  2. katechiconi April 2, 2017 / 7:50 am

    I can quite see why you had no time to stitch! I do love a bit of a travelogue, and I’m very envious of your wonderful trip. Maybe some photos next time?

  3. Carole April 2, 2017 / 8:05 am

    That all sounds amazing and I completely forgive you not having a SAL update. I’m with Kate though on wanting photos 🙂

  4. jessicacrafts April 2, 2017 / 12:18 pm

    Wow. That sounds like an absolutely amazing trip. I’m so glad you had a wonderful time.

  5. kathyreeves April 2, 2017 / 12:57 pm

    Who cares about the SAL update when we get to read this!

  6. claire93 April 2, 2017 / 1:46 pm

    what a fabulous time you had!

  7. rutigt April 2, 2017 / 3:28 pm

    Just reading about your trip did compensate the lack of stitches 🙂 What a lovely and interesting trip you must have had!

  8. Catherine April 2, 2017 / 7:14 pm

    What an amazing trip! You are lucky to have a son that spoils you!

  9. marymargaretripley April 2, 2017 / 9:27 pm

    Wow what a wonderful experience for you! It’s so wonderful when our children do well in life isn’t it?

  10. lbick April 4, 2017 / 3:49 pm

    Sounds like you had an amazing trip. What a great memory!

  11. stitchingranny April 7, 2017 / 10:33 am

    How lucky are you. Burma (or Myanmar as its now called) is one place in the far east I have not visited but hopefully as things improve with my health I will still get there one day.
    Its nice to have a son with “perks”. Our son owns an executive car business so we always get taken to and return from uk airports in grand style lol. Makes a nice change from the normal taxis we used to get.

Leave a Reply

